Your Ad Could Be Here

Best Solid State Amp Head For Metal

Hello i am on budget of 500€ and i would like to buy a 100W solid state amp head for playing

progressive metal & instrumental. Any ideas which amp would suit me well?

Thank you.

Hey, you mentioned in your other post (about Bugera amps) about lack of experience, which leads me to ask about that. Do you expect to be gigging soon with this amp, or mainly practicing? Will you be recording soon? I'm not an expert on all the gear that's out there at the moment, but these questions would help focus your thinking as to what you really need at this point.

• Like 1

You'll kill me but I picked up a Mesa Boogie Dual-Rectifier head for 500$ US. XD Best amp head I've ever played out of, and great for metal. Guttural, throaty sort of tone.

But on that train of thought, have you considered looking into used equipment? You may be able to find some epic deals like I did (pure luck).

I also know that Line 6 has some heads for under 500$ US or so, but not sure if they would really give the sound that you're looking for.

My thoughts: try used :D Sorry I wasn't much more help. Good luck tho!

You can for sure get some good deals on used gear, but if you don't have a lot of experience it's good to have someone knowledgeable about amps, or at least electronics, take a look at your prospective purchase. It would suck to lay down good money for a head, then lay down another 30-50% for repairs a couple of months later...

You can for sure get some good deals on used gear, but if you don't have a lot of experience it's good to have someone knowledgeable about amps, or at least electronics, take a look at your prospective purchase. It would suck to lay down good money for a head, then lay down another 30-50% for repairs a couple of months later...