Your Ad Could Be Here

What Do You Practice?

When I was a gigging musician (paid studio work, stage) I didn't need to practice. I didn't need practice because I was focused on what I was doing. You get very good at what you do and pretty much all the things you like but are not a part of your regiment fall away.

Now that I'm not a gigging musician I've gone back to practicing scales and patterns in different ways mostly due to a different instrument and approach. Sometimes I think there is simply too much to practice. Not that I'm in the heavy metal scene but I know of many of those guys practice scales for two to three hours straight. One thing I've gone back to is cycle of 5ths. A different key everyday

I've got so many methods it drives me bonkers and every time I turn around I stumble on a new one. I've got about six different diatonic scale pattern ideas that I'll run thru. And I'll apply them left and right in various combinations across all modes. I used to have a lot of pentatonic sequences but I haven't touched them in ages.

I'll say this. My new ideas are no more complex then my old ideas but they certainly are harder to execute even at a slow pace. As well I tried expaning my range by using something similar to 6 string bass tuning - beadgc rather then guitar. Works great if I'm playing just bass but if I tune up an octave and get all 6 strings and both hands involved in chording I go nuts.