Your Ad Could Be Here

How To Promo Your Music

I have been working with bands for over 5 years now and when I started I had no clue how to really promote a band.  I was just a naive college freshman who thought he could be the next P. Diddy.  However, I quickly found out that music promotion is not easy.  Although things were hard, I stuck with it and picked up a ton of tricks and tips along the way.  Below, I will share these tips and hopefully you will use some of the tactics I outline below.

1:  MUSIC DOESN'T SELL.  It sucks.  I mean, it does sell, but not like it use to.  I have gone to countless shows and have seen unknown bands, artists, singers, folk dancers, and the like try to sell their CDs for $10 or more.  The result is no sales, a ton of plastic that they now own and can't get rid of.  My advice for this is to bundle.  BUNDLE! BUNDLE!  I'll say it one more time, BUNDLE!  Sell a t-shirt and package it with a CD.  Sell a Poster and package it with a CD.  DO SOMETHING CREATIVE OTHER THAN JUST TRYING TO SELL A CD AS A STANDALONE PRODUCT.  Believe me, your sales will increase.

2: MUSIC VIDEOS ARE IMPORTANT!  I hate it when I see a crappy music video.  It is not that hard to make a professional looking music video.  Use an SLR camera.  If you don't own one, find one to borrow from a friend.  If none of your friends have one, then find a friend who attends college.  They can rent them for FREE from their university or community college.  SLR's allow for manual focus, which gives the video that music video quality that you see from the pros.  Also, join a video forum or two.  Comb through it, ask questions, and perfect your art.  In the end, the time investment will pay out extraordinarily.  I mean, by just putting in a small amount of time, you will now be able to produce all your own music videos until your budget increases.  This will give you a HUGE advantage over your fellow independent musicians who are trying to make it.