Your Ad Could Be Here

How Are Singles Chosen?

Just out of curiosity...I've zero experience in the music industry and I've never released anything. I am asking this as a fan.

I have a vague understanding that singles are chosen on the basis that they'll 1) be a hit, 2) represent the band and its latest album, 3) build anticipation surrounding the artist

but what really is the process/processes that go behind what song is actually chosen? How much of a single's selection is based on it being perceived as the best song? How much input does the artist supply, typically that is, as well by the producer, record company, etc.? Is length or accessibility still a primary concern? (I've noticed that songs that are singles these days seem to be longer than one might expect which seems like a benefit for the artist. Though I heard one single by Arcade Fire that was 7 or 8 minutes long and it nearly put me to sleep...way too long, even for art rock.)

What have your experiences taught you? What do you think should be the way singles are selected?

Thanks for any insight!

Also, did you have any songs you thought should have been singles but were rejected?

Details vary from record label to record label, and it has evolved. Where as once upon a time the A&R and Record company executives would round table bringing together taste, impressions and a few basic metrics, the modern label uses things like focus groups... but that is just a more formal version of the tried and tested "Play it to an audience and get feedback". Bigger labels tend to use a number of marketing metrics in combination with the feedback from such groups. The marketing department feeds in information about the target market that would be relevant.

Just out of curiosity...I've zero experience in the music industry and I've never released anything. I am asking this as a fan.