Your Ad Could Be Here

The Bar Is Closed

As some of you may know. My tech support job is winding down. Due to both the state of the software industry and personal limitations (no I'm not going to move to india to work in software tech support) I've had to go back to cooking to support myself.  Constantly going over the same places with application / resume in hand I finally got a job @ Ultimate Sports Bar in Wixom.

I've been putting in long hours and long weeks there at a low wage.  Today was my day off.(It's not unusual for me to be called in on an off day) I get a call from the day manager about something minor. Explain the situation and then tell her after I cash my check I'd be in to do some things (because while I'm only a cook in title and pay I also have some managerial responsibilities)

Long story short.I show up to work and the place was on fire.  It started out as an electrical fire in a dry storage (paper goods) room.  Everyone got out safe. The fire burned through the roof didn't enter the kitchen.  It's all repairable but I don't think the owner is going to take the insurance money and rebuild.  I think he's just going to take the money and run.

Thanks.

Well for right now... I'm just going to enjoy the break from work sorta....

I still work between one and three hours a day at the software company Everyday that ends in "y" shy of a massive power outage.  At Ultimate Sports Bar most weeks were 6 days long with two to three of them being 14 hour days just for good measure. It definitely gave me back my "sea legs" for cooking. Funny what 10 years out of the biz can do to one.

• Editors

I'm sorry to hear that man :(

Like Dave said, probably this is a sign that is something else is waiting for you. Sending some positive energy your way.

Cheers :)

That sucks Mike. But, it could be the best thing that ever happened to you. Stay positive and do enjoy your free time. Spend it wisely.

Randy