Your Ad Could Be Here

Legal Question / Co-Producing And Co-Writing With A Producer?

• Noob

Hi there!

I'm currently studying music production and will start soon the legal side of the industry. This week I'm meeting up with a contact who has a roster of producers and such. My question is this: How does it work when I want to approach a producer/ production team to write songs with them? I would be co-producing and co-writing. What kind of deals exist for that sort of arrangement? I would be hiring them in a sense 

Off-topic: Also, I know of a lot of cases where songwriters/artists simply write with the producers/production team, and I don't think the producers charge anything by the hour- they just write and write- as if it was a songwriting team. 

All advice, feedback, and answers are appreciated!
Thank you!!

Hey

Working with a production team is something like working with an artist, and something like working with a songwriter. For example, if they are a "name", a known producer, part of the deal with them includes them putting their name to the work, ie you are trading on their name to a degree. If they are unknown this is less of a factor. That apart, they can be inputing to the song structure, arrangement, even lyrics (though less often) as a writer and creating the overall sound and performance. As such they can easily be creating more than 50% of the writing and all of the arrangement and performance, and contributing their name to the work to the extent in the dance world where a song can be completely under their name as an artist, perhaps featuring a guest vocalist with a lyricist good getting a small if any writing credit.