Your Ad Could Be Here

Singing Tips - Dealing With A Sore Throat

Hi

I am not a doctor, these are tips I got firstly from my mum (who was, amongst other things, an opera singer) and tips I picked up along the way.

if you have a sore throat don't keep pushing. Above all, don't use lozenges, pastels, sprays or rinses. Numbing the feeling in your throat is a very bad idea. Many rinses and mouth washes also contain alcohol, which dry out your vocal cords, making them more prone to being damaged.

Instead, hydrate (preferably by drinking pure, unflavoured water), REST and gently hum.

If you are mot singing and not planning on singing:

I ave also found that if I have a throat infection, alternating gargling with warm, salt water, and gargling with warm water and soluble aspirin is very helpful. Obviously avoid the aspirin option if you are allergic to aspirin!

If your throat needs soothing, and you are not going to sing, take a spoonful of honey and slowly let it melt in your mouth, swallowing just the melted honey as you go.

Cheers

John

• Editors

Adding to what John has to say. I find that using the Vocal Fry at low volumes at different pitches along a scale is great vocal therapy for sore throats.

Vocal Fry is that very lazy croaky sound you make when your mom wakes you up for school in the morning and you say "2 more minutes ma". Don't over do it, push or do it loudly though. The whole point of such vocal exercises is to allow your voice to develop new and correct techniques. 

• 1 year later...