Your Ad Could Be Here

Know Songtradr?

Hi guys,

I just came across a company online called Songtradr(https://www.songtradr.com). They're kind of like an A&R company. Is anyone familiar with their services?

I'm considering signing up in the near future but I just wanted to ask around first for more first hand information. Forgive me for spamming!

Thanks.

Edited by ImKeN

On 3/21/2017 at 1:17 AM, HoboSage said:

I have no first-hand experience with them, but I've read their legal stuff, and I wouldn't describe them as an A&R company.  They're a music rights broker, putting indie artists together with music rights purchasers, and acting as the middle man to consummate those legally-binding transactions - transactions for mechanical licensing, and for the assignment of publishing copyrights and master sound recording rights.   That's how I see it, anyway.  It seems to be a valuable service in the industry.  But, you should have a good understanding of what you're getting into legally by uploading your stuff to them before you do.  

Thanks, David! I will check the legal stuff.

I did hear some of the talent that's already with Songtradr and they sound REALLY good at what they do. It made me wanna work harder with my own music!

Thanks again for the advice.

Ken

Edited by ImKeN

• 6 months later...

So Andy(my collaborator/lyricist) submitted a pop/country song(we wrote back in 2011) to 3 different licensing opportunities(non-exclusive), and we got 3 for 3! It's not a perfect song but we're glad it has some use ;)

Here's the link to the song: https://www.songtradr.com/songs/ken-fukuda/high-school-day-dream/1

Ken

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

When dealing with copyrights, you really need to understand the terminology – and the fine print.