RTG    8

So I roughly created this chorus to a song I'm interested in creating in about 3 hours. I'm pretty new to making music (so don't yell at me about no mixing lol) I am currently at a stuck point. I made this melody, and I REALLY REALLY like it. I have some chords and drums. The problem is I don't think the melody fits the BPM. It may not be the BPM but something just doesn't sound right. Maybe the drums are too fast for it. I don't know. That's why I wanted some of you geniuses :D to help me! What should I do differently? Here is a link to a video of my project. 

Dallon426    25

Yeah your bars are not lining up.  What will help you grow as a producer, if yo are new to music is to copy people music you like.  Learn the software and try to figure out how other people put their music together.  Watch things on youtube, production videos, etc.  Dive in head deep!  Then, of course learning an instrument and taking the time to get proficient is absolutely rewarding, because it is so challenging, especially if you are starting later in life.  If you like piano, find a great teacher and learn the styles you enjoy.  Just as long as you are having fun with it!

Ray888    159

I'm no musician but depending on what music program you are using there should be a sync application that will place your notes in sync to timing.

HoboSage    1,907

This sounds like the drums are trying to play to specifics of the piano's rhythm, when it should sound like the piano is playing to the general rhythm of the drums.  In my opinion, the drums have too many crash cymbal hits and too many stutters of the kick beats in too short a span of time.  I don't think there should be any crash cymbals yet, or at most, just the first one.  I think the kick beat should go: buh, buh-buh . . . buh, buh-buh, and not pause even when the piano does. If this is a drum loop that you can't alter, then you need a different loop that provides a beat that flows more straight ahead.  

• Like 1