Your Ad Could Be Here

A belated hello

I was asked to pop in to this portion of the forum to introduce myself. I guess I should have done this before I posted any of my work...silly me!

I am a general manager of a loan company in Huntsville, Al. I work alone, so I find myself with a little free time to explore other interests which include writing and photography. I am a 40 year old mother of 2 teenagers (which in itself gives me lots to write about..lol) A great deal of my writing comes from past experiences, as I was one of the unfortunante ones that was thrown away to strangers at the tender age of 5. I don't hold it against my mother. She was only 13 when she had me and in retrospect I know I was better off. I was raised in a christian home, had parents who set certain standards for me and I did ok for the most part. The beginning was where most of my bad memories come from. I can remember going to bed at night and I would lie there awake wondering why my mother didn't want me. It was a horrible feeling, so when I became a mother, I vowed that my children would never EVER have to go through one night of not knowing how I feel about them. They wouldn't want me saying this, but I still tucked them in bed at night and told them I loved them, until they were 13 years old. I decided that as a child, I had no control over my life, but when I became an adult, I had every power to be the person I wanted to become. I didn't use my sad childhood (early on) as a crutch to get by in this world. I have come to the realization that if what I went through as a child has made me a better mother, then I would do it all over again. I always wanted to JUST FIT IN. I didn't want people looking down on me, or feeling sorry for me (which is what I got alot of in school) I was even placed in special education JUST BECAUSE I was a foster child. Ok, I could write a book about my life, but I will end by saying I am so glad to be apart of this family forum. I enjoy reading everyone's wo