Your Ad Could Be Here

The Creative Commons Sampling Plus License

The songs I’ve written are released under the Creative Commons Sampling Plus 1.0 license.

I’ve done this for a simple reason. I know that the chances that my work will never be heard at all (outside of a few friends, and maybe some people on these message boards) is infinitely greater than the chance that I’ll write a song that will bring in the big bucks. The vast majority of musicians don’t hit the lottery — they earn their living like everyone else, by working their asses off day to day, playing and touring. Health, psychology and talent are all against me there: I am not, and will never be, a performer. Asking how can I make money from my compositions is just silly — it ain’t gonna happen; rather, I ask, how can I get what I write to matter at all... to be anything but musical masturbation.

By profession I was a computer programmer (I’m disabled now), and what programming I still do has led me to a great respect for the free software movement. The economy of physical objects (chairs and caviar) is not the same as the economy of ideas and innovations; we are, and will be, stuck in the new Dark Ages until we find a way to integrate the two without trying to warp the latter to make it behave like the former.

What I want to ask is mostly directed to those with some affinity for the free culture movement.

The Creative Commons Sampling Plus license still exists, but it’s no longer accessible from their License Your Work page. They don’t say they’ve discontinued or deprecated it, but something seems to have happened.

Is this license a bad choice? Should I select a different license to maximize the chances that someone else will be able to use my work?