Your Ad Could Be Here

Sings, Composes, Weak On Guitar?

elliotjoy

• Noob

Hello! 

I am a singer and a published poet and recently I have gotten into songwriting.  I started playing the guitar in order to help me compose.  I also have Guitar Pro 6 for sheet music creation.

My questions are these -

I sing, I understand music theory, and I can play enough to help me compose.  Do I need to be able to play the guitar really well?  I probably won't ever get to performance level on the guitar. I love playing it and increasing my music theory knowledge, but I probably won't ever get to professional level. 

Is there anyway I can create music that sounds good enough to share with people?  I would love to get feedback.  I would also be happy to let others use my songs.  I am more interested in writing them than performing them.  What outlets are there for people like me - Collaboration? Digital music?  I am open to everything and anything.

Here is a link to a YouTube video of me singing and playing a song I wrote.   I have written more since then that I feel are better, but I need to put them up.

Thanks!

Hi EJ

My questions are these -

I sing, I understand music theory, and I can play enough to help me compose. Do I need to be able to play the guitar really well?

No. So long as you can play what you figure out what’s in your head, its fine.

Is there anyway I can create music that sounds good enough to share with people?

Are you recording using a PC or studio? That’s one way of breaking it all down and laying the music down piecemeal.

What outlets are there for people like me - Collaboration? Digital music?

Yes & yes.

Sorry I cannot view/listen to your link from where I am. (I think it best to post recordings in the Songwriting Critique area)

Perhaps later.

Good luck

Rudi

oh yes, you are a songwriter. welcome to the club!

I liked your song, and I think with a bit more tuning up of your guitar skills you could do it all on your own.