Your Ad Could Be Here

How I Promote My Band Online

• Noob

Warning: This article is kind of long but by the end you'll learn a valuable skill in promoting your music/band/whatever it is.

I have a band that isn't too big but has a little fan base growing. I've been playing out for a few years with this band and released an EP, learned a lot promoting it. Then released a "single" and got a LOT of press for it, much more than expected. Now we're going into the studio to record a full-length in about 2 weeks and I'm confident that we're gonna get a lot of attention for it.

Each time I've released a new record I went all in, trying different techniques, using advice I'd find on the web and from talking to other musicians, using Craigslist to make new connections, etc. I'm gonna share ONE of the main strategies that I think has REALLY helped me. It's pretty easy and anyone of you can do it. It goes like this:

Think about some of the more traditional ways of promoting music, the "old school" or "major label" way of promoting music that has worked pretty well up until a few years ago. Back in the day a major label would shell out tons of dough to plaster your bands posters and fliers everywhere before a show, get you CD into tons of cool hip record stores, and of course pay radio stations to spin your latest "hit" single. Many times this would work and the rest is history, you have all of your major pop stars of the last few years. But you never heard of the artists that didn't make it. While there were tons of artists that became stars "overnight" there were many many more that fell by the wayside whose labels dropped them and they were never to be heard from again.

That doesn't sound like much fun.