Your Ad Could Be Here

Structuring A Rap And Rnb Song

Rookee

• Noob

Hello, I want to become an RnB and rap writer. I'm new to this, I need some help with insipiration to the song what to basicly look for and how to structure it.

For rap i use this template:

Title

Verse 1

Verse 2

Chorus

Verse 3

Verse 4

Is this good to start with?

You're on the right track. There's a lot of variations that are possible. If the verses seem a little too long, you can drop a teaser of the hook in between v1 & v2, or maybe have only one verse before the chorus. If you're looking for a mainstream sound you generally don't want the people to have to wait too long before you get to the hook, about 45 seconds or so is good (some say even that is too long...). With rap it also depends on how many MCs are on the track, sometimes a change in style from one MC to the next is enough to keep it interesting. Check out the songwriting articles for more in depth info. They're more or less geared toward pop-rock-country, but the info is perfectly applicable to R&B & Hip-Hop as well.

• Like 1

• Noob

You're on the right track. There's a lot of variations that are possible. If the verses seem a little too long, you can drop a teaser of the hook in between v1 & v2, or maybe have only one verse before the chorus. If you're looking for a mainstream sound you generally don't want the people to have to wait too long before you get to the hook, about 45 seconds or so is good (some say even that is too long...). With rap it also depends on how many MCs are on the track, sometimes a change in style from one MC to the next is enough to keep it interesting. Check out the songwriting articles for more in depth info. They're more or less geared toward pop-rock-country, but the info is perfectly applicable to R&B & Hip-Hop as well.

Thanks for the help

• 3 weeks later...