Your Ad Could Be Here

Performance Rights

Hi,

If anyone can help with this I would be grateful

I have recently been accepted by a music licensing company to provide songs for their roster.

To produce the songs I have hired various musicians including vocals and all instrumentation.

The company have asked me to quote all the musicians they played on the tracks because they qualify for performing rights payments.

Is this correct, even if I paid them for their services?

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I am new to this and it would seem it’s a complicated subject.

I submitted my songs to the company and they reviewed them and now they will try to sell them to anyone who requires media (TV, Radio, Films etc). The deals are non exclusive so I still have all the usual rights to the work. This is a common process with several internet based organisations performing this service. You audition by sending your songs and if you are accepted they represent your music and actively promote it.

As part of the contract I need to quote the musicians who have performed on the tracks. The musicians are all studio session players and come with a long list of recommendations.

Nothing about the process has been underhand in any way and the tracks are performed to the highest quality.

I did not sign any agreements with the musicians with regard to royalties and their services were accepted by me once the tracks were recorded.

I think, as the media companies concerned are in the US, they will not want to limit the  opportunities that are available to the tracks so they want to  cover all the bases and have requested the  details musicians concerned.    

Any further thoughts would be appreciated.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi, 21miles. You may want to seek advice from an entertainment lawyer to go over the contract provided on the licensing company to ensure you understand all it entails.