Your Ad Could Be Here

Guitar Practice

john

Hey

I've been playing guitar for a long time (25 years or so). I rarely practice as such though I do work on pieces I am writing. My style is always evolving and I do try to bring in new elements on a regular basis, but that is a very informal process.

What do you do to develop your guitar playing?

Cheers

John

• 2 weeks later...

Hey Mark

It's not so much the years as what you do with them :)

Do you play any scales, or work on learning new chords? Or do you always derive new knowledge when you learn a new song?

It's funny, I very rarely learnt the songs of others. I did learn a few to play at parties, and at one point I played in a Pink Floyd tribute band and had to learn lots of Dave Gilmour guitar parts. I always focused on original music and experimenting. I guess I still absorbed the styles etc of others.

Weirdly, on a regular basis I will re-create the main sections of a song I like in the studio, purely as a way of learning how to achieve certain production techniques.

Everyone is different :)

Hey Mark

It's not so much the years as what you do with them :)

Do you play any scales, or work on learning new chords? Or do you always derive new knowledge when you learn a new song?

It's funny, I very rarely learnt the songs of others. I did learn a few to play at parties, and at one point I played in a Pink Floyd tribute band and had to learn lots of Dave Gilmour guitar parts. I always focused on original music and experimenting. I guess I still absorbed the styles etc of others.

Weirdly, on a regular basis I will re-create the main sections of a song I like in the studio, purely as a way of learning how to achieve certain production techniques.

Everyone is different :)

Usually I spend a day every couple weeks learning a new song. ThenI spend most of my other practice time composing original stuff. I've found scales to be awfully and always do them in conjuction with something else

• 1 month later...