Your Ad Could Be Here

Writer's Block

Alright so we've all hit it... probably multiple times. The dreaded writer's block. What are some things you guys do to help yours? I pretty much just drop everything related to music (and yes it's as hard as it sounds.. I see music wherever I go) and try to enjoy something that I enjoyed before I started playing guitar (i.e. lift weights, play catch with a friend, go for a drive *without music*, for a walk around the block, etc..). What about you guys?

Yeah, sometimes getting away for a break can help... but I do a few things that I think help... probably others I can't think of now...

I push myself NOT to qualify ideas as I write. At the stage of a writing block i find I over qualify the ideas "That won't work" "It doesn't quite say what I mean""It's cheesy" etc.... I drop all those kind of qualification of ideas in favor of maintaining flow and encouraging creative thought.

I make myself write about the simplest of subjects, for example "A black ball point pen". Amazing what you can write about a pen... sure it wont make a finished lyric, but that is not the point... the point is to get the ideas flowing

I play with words and sounds

I write more poetry, prose whatever...