Your Ad Could Be Here

Placing/marketing Lyrics

I have a lot of lyrics piled up and very little time to do anything with them. I am not a musician and don't personally know any musicians any more. (Wow, how did that happen?) I am also a writer and poet (and for money, an editor), and I see ads in mags like Writer's Digest that ask for lyrics, but before I send them anything, I want to know if anyone knows if they are scams of some kind? (Edlee Music, Majestic Records, Song Partners, Empire Music, etc. Since they offer "free appraisals," I'm suspecting there is something else that's NOT free.) I'd also welcome advice about finding a collaborating musician to work with. Where to start? I've written a wide range of stuff--maybe it's mostly pop, but also blues, country, rock, inspirational. In addition, I have a great (if I do say so myself) Christmas song, and somehow came up with something that sounds like a Celine Dion or Barbara Streisand. The Christmas song and a couple of the others have music already, but most of my lyrics still need music, and I've come to the conclusion that I will never have time to master an instrument. It's also pretty clear that no matter how good a lyricist you are, you can't sell anything unless you have a professional-quality demo. Anyone have any advice?

Hi Dennee, welcome to SongStuff. :)