Your Ad Could Be Here

Hi - Writerlooking For Music

justsoulin

Hi Everyone

I've just found you all (which I think is a good thing lol) and hope to be able to pursue my dream of creating with someone, great songs.

I've been writing (for myself) off and on for some twenty years and recently became very active again and want to open the door of my words of creativity to an audience that, hopefully through my words, will gain something from them - reflection, understanding, reaction etc etc.

Please get in touch with me (pm me) if you would like to discuss any collaboration.

Thanks All

Thanks John, gonna take a while to read thru the whole forum, but I want to get something moving. Can I ask you here please, as a noob, has anything/lyrics posted on the board ever been reused/copied by another member or guest to your knowledge? Is the posting of any lyrics here considered "copyright" (based on original material)?

hey

Yes, about 16 months ago a member copied lyrics and then posted them here as their own... they were banned. Another writer repeatedly posted Mariah Carey's lyrics as their own under a few different log ins and they were banned also. Banned means that they also cannot even view the boards.

On "is it copyright", by posting a lyric or any other work here it is considered published, it has a time and date stamp... in that so much it establishes copyright. In the eyes of the US it is not as strong a claim as registering copyright with their copyright office, however even that only establishes a claim to own copyright on a particular date. So, for all posting on Songstuff does establish a copyright claim I would urge members to still continue on and register their finished works with the US copyright office (you can find a link in the Songstuff music business links), wether they are a US citizen or not. The fact is much of the internet is governed by US laws.