Your Ad Could Be Here

Anyone Heard Of Songregistration.com

nycpro9

• Noob

Hey everyone

I'm new here and thought I'd create my first topic. I am a new song writer and wanted to copyright the lyrics to my songs. I came across www.songregistration.com. Anyone know if it is reputable and legit or a scam? Having a nice attractive site doesn't always mean they are legit. Those are the ones sometimes you have to watch out for. They have an A rating with the BBB. But still hesitating. I searched around at a bunch of other copyright sites. This one offered reasonable prices and packages. Hope you can help... Thanks

Anyone know if it's the same for Down Under? Thought the idea of putting © at the bottom of the work with your name was enough? Or maybe just for the Kangaroo Courts we have down here...

Sorry David, at work and too lazy/busy to google it  :devil2:

In Australia, and in most countries, US is always different, they're Americans after all... your copyright exists from the minute you either print (put to paper) or record (any recording media) your work - I mean the lyrics, melody and chords. However, proving that claim in court may be difficult. Personally, I'm waiting till I but a printer soon, then I'll print the lead sheet (required) and a copy to CD. The date stamps are good as proof. When recorded by an artist, or scored by an arranger, they take out a copyright on what they have done, separate to the writer's copyright. Or so I've read.