Your Ad Could Be Here

Registering In The Us Copywrite Office

Hi, I am a new music artist who creates my own materials and wishes to register in the US Copywrite office music and text pieces I created. My purpose is to prove that I am the creator of the pieces and would like to sell my creations worldwide in the future.

I would be thankful for anyone answering some questions I have regarding it:

1.      Is the US Copywrite office a good way to register my pieces or there is a better way to do it ?

2.      In the US Copywrite office site at this link there is information which I understand as a warning to new creators about solicitors who deliberately ask for data of recently registered creators and try to find resemblance to registered pieces and sue them. I would like to know if this is actually happening?

I ask this because I believe every artist is influenced and inspired in some way by (but not just) what he sees, reads, hear and generally exposed to. I can never know if a part of my creation has resemblance to some other creation if I am not familiar with it and since there are millions of music pieces, there are chances that some part of unrelated creation may have resemblance to another.

After seeing this information, it feels to me as if some companies with bad intentions are waiting to new creator at the corner of the alley to try and sue them for any resemblance that may be present, and it is not pleasant to feel that way. It makes me think maybe registering in the US office can be a bad experience. But it can also be that I interpreted what was written wrongly, thus I would appreciate your answers.

3.      In the US Copywrite office site at this link It says my personal details will be available to the public. How can I register in a way that my personal details (address, phone number) won't be available to the public, but will be available only to the US Copywrite office?

Thanks,

Grinder

• 3 weeks later...