Your Ad Could Be Here

Copyright Question

6 hours ago, tunesmithth said:

Tip #4 - For God sake, spend a couple dollars & get your finished material properly copyrighted.

Quick question on that. Lets say I have 10 songs for a CD I want to copyright. I myself have recorded them with my cheesy software but will have them mastered by someone else. Lets say I copyright them for this first CD. If I were to re-record them next year from scratch at a studio, would the copyright still hold? And, if I am copyrighting the first versions of these songs as stated above, would sending them pre-mastered matter or not, or should I wait?

Thanks for the links, they now be bookmarked.

I'm going to reply here Randy because John didn't want this thread cluttered up with responses & conversation. I got the impression he was looking to keep it as "tips-only". We can always hide this post later, should we choose. Onward.....

I am by no means an expert on this, but I believe the Library of Congress specifies each registrant have their best, most current version of the work on file. How much that actually matters, I honestly don't know. Because that's always been a part of their filing instructions, I've always done my best to comply. Many of my tunes, I've filed 3 & 4 versions of over the years. Typically, when I submit an updated version of something, it's done as part of a package of new material. For example...if I were to submit a new collective filing titled "Song by TEH, Volume 18", it might contain 5 brand new tunes + updated versions of 2 older ones. that way I avoid paying additional filing fees. When I submitt the updated versions, I usually number them ("The Usual Suspects 2", "The Usual Suspects 3", etc). That way, I have a reference point for the specific filing.