Your Ad Could Be Here

using different mics for vocals

1 hour ago, Quintin said:

I was wondering if anyone has every used more 2 mics for a song. Iet say one mic for the verse and another for the chorus?

Hi Quintin - welcome to the site.

I’ve never used 2 mics for this type of use before, but I think it is known to be done in the industry as it can provide a different feel to certain parts of the song, or even for doing backing vocals.

I have 2 very different mics, but normally use either for a whole song. I think it would definitely work as you describe above.

Have you done this, or is it something you are thinking of doing?

• 3 weeks later...
On 1/20/2018 at 12:59 AM, Richard Tracey said:

Hi Quintin - welcome to the site.

I’ve never used 2 mics for this type of use before, but I think it is known to be done in the industry as it can provide a different feel to certain parts of the song, or even for doing backing vocals.

I have 2 very different mics, but normally use either for a whole song. I think it would definitely work as you describe above.

Have you done this, or is it something you are thinking of doing?

Yes I tried It, not a great Idea. But for backgrounds vocals I dont see a differnce. I would ues the same mic the whole way trough just have to choose

7 hours ago, TwoHippo said:

Hi Quintin,

I just use a Rode NT1A for recording vocals at home.

I have 2 mics, but the other, a shure sm58, i use it for live performances!

The Nt1 is a great mic. Have you ever tried laying your tracks down and the once the vocals are ready to be layed, Use to mic to mic Guitar and voice?

5 hours ago, Quintin said:

Yes I tried It, not a great Idea. But for backgrounds vocals I dont see a differnce. I would ues the same mic the whole way trough just have to choose

The Nt1 is a great mic. Have you ever tried laying your tracks down and the once the vocals are ready to be layed, Use to mic to mic Guitar and voice?