Your Ad Could Be Here

I'm Looking to Learn Music Theory, but I'm completely Lost...

• Noob

I started playing guitar around 6-years ago but I committed the carnal sin (I think that's the saying) of learning through tabs instead of more traditional methods like music theory. I've actually become fairly decent at guitar but I've always wanted to write my own songs, and not knowing anything about music theory, or really music in general makes that pretty much impossible. I basically don't know at all, I don't know what sharps and flats are, what scales are, keys, nothing like that.

I want to learn though, and I was hoping someone on here could guide me in the right direction for an absolute beginner. I'll gladly answer any other questions that might be necessary.

Thanks.

I started trying to read when I first started guitar aged 15 and realised my entire understanding of the notes and keys from music class at school was wrong - I remember I was trying to learn Fleetwood Mac's Albatross from the sheet music and it wasn't happening -  so I had to teach myself. It can be done. I can't sight read but knowing what was in the music rather than relying on the guitar tabs helped me a lot, so I'd encourage anybody to learn to read.

This Youtube clip is a good starter.

I wish we'd had Youtube back in the 70s.

• Noob
On 5/14/2018 at 11:39 AM, Glammerocity said:

I started trying to read when I first started guitar aged 15 and realised my entire understanding of the notes and keys from music class at school was wrong - I remember I was trying to learn Fleetwood Mac's Albatross from the sheet music and it wasn't happening -  so I had to teach myself. It can be done. I can't sight read but knowing what was in the music rather than relying on the guitar tabs helped me a lot, so I'd encourage anybody to learn to read.

This Youtube clip is a good starter.

I wish we'd had Youtube back in the 70s.