Your Ad Could Be Here

Stuck Writing a Guitar Solo

• Noob

Hello,

I am the guitar player of a band who are writing their own music for two years now. I have basic music theory knowledge. So we wrote a nice rock song with a nice hook riff. For the solo we are playing two bars of a Bb triad followed by two bars D in repeat. But I got stuck writing a solo part.  I tried to play Dm over the Bb and just D over the D chord.  

Do you have any suggestions on how I can approach this another way?

Thanks in advance

• Noob

I was jamming to it a little and on the Bb chords i found myself alternately landing on D, Bb, and F each time the chord came up, with filling notes leading into the D chord where I found myself landing on A a lot(maybe an F# after using an F on the Bb chord). Ending it with a high A sounded good to me. I Hope this was of any help lol. I typically improv my solos and learn them after the fact. Maybe try recording you improvising several times and pick out the best of each take.

A good place to start is by playing a sort of arpeggiation of the 1/3/5 notes of each chord.  Then, as the chords change, arrange things so that you "reach" to a note in the next chord – introducing an interval that isn't a third or a fifth.  A sixth, perhaps, which will sound slightly dissonant.  You can also use the idea of a "suspension" ... hitting one-step or even a half-step above or below your target and then resolving to the expected note.