Your Ad Could Be Here

Hi everyone, I'm Asher!

Asher123

• Noob

Hey everyone!

I'm super excited to join the forum! I just graduated from college with a degree in music composition. Throughout college, I wrote contemporary classical music (see here: , but now I'm finding myself more passionate about writing songs instead. I've come a long way as a composer/arranger, but I think my lyrics could use a good bit of work. I'm trying to be dedicated to practicing them, and I think having a community to be a part of would both motivate me and improve my songwriting skills!

1. Do you sing, play an instrument or instruments?

I've taken lots of cello lessons, and I've taught myself guitar- I've been playing both for about 11 years! I also sing and am working on my piano playing now.

2. Are you in a band or bands?

In high school I used to be in a band called the Neat Denices haha. I played guitar and sang in the band, we played indie/psychedelic rock. 

3. Do you write songs?

I write music and lyrics! Other than fleshing out songs with my old band, I've never done collaborative songwriting.

4. Do you record your music?

I do! I have one microphone, a guitar amp and pedalboard, a keyboard, and an audio interface.

8. What are your ambitions?

I want to start another band and make albums and tour and fun stuff like that!

9. Do you draw/paint/write stories/computer art/dance or other creative pursuit?

Nothing other than music, really!

10. What would you like to get out of Songstuff?

I'd like to have a space where I can get serious constructive criticism, and a community of people who are also passionate about songwriting. 

Here's a composition I wrote for my undergraduate degree:

And here's a song I wrote, recorded, produced, and performed in high school!

Once again, I'm excited to be here!

• Like 1