Your Ad Could Be Here

Celebrate Who You Are

I have been watching Tom Morello’s course on Masterclass.com. One of his central themes is “Enhance your creativity by embracing your limitations.”

This is a concept I have always tried to practice without verbalizing it.

This year is the first time I have ever tried to record myself performing as a band playing all the instruments.  Of course I’ve made many home recordings on cassettes or 4 tracks of song demos which were me and a guitar.  However any band recording I have ever done has been in a studio with an engineer and other musicians.

People PM suggesting I should try this or that plugin or piece of equipment.  I certainly appreciate their support as I am not an audio engineer although this input is beyond both my knowledge and energy levels as well as my goals.  I am very proud of myself for actually learning to play the drums although I doubt Sheila E will lose any sleep from the competition.

My experience as a producer revolves around telling an engineer or other musician what to do as it is their specialty not mine.  Saying increase the echo but lower the overtones in the high end is a far cry from being at the board and actually knowing how to do it.  Skill sets differ.

The point I am making is we are still very much on the frontier of a movement from corporate dominated music to individuals creating an international marketplace for themselves. This is an intimidating undertaking to say the least.  We should all be very proud of what we are doing.  At the same time it would be constructive to keep everything in perspective and realize what is an unrealistic approach or goal for other people no matter how essential it may be for yourself