Your Ad Could Be Here

A Mastering Question

Hi all

This has been bugging me for a while and maybe I'm seeing this the wrong way but, does every song have to be mastered in the end? 

When I record I tend to put effects on the track so by the time a song is finished it's pretty much if not wholey there (IMO). 

Sometimes when I try to master something (and I'm no expert), it always sounds too much to me so I just end up making it a bit louder overall. 

Anyway, be good to hear what you all think

Cheers

Les

It kind of depends on what your final recording is intended for.  Some final mastering is always a good idea if you're doing a CD/album/EP of multiple songs so that all songs end up in the same general volume and EQ ballpark.  Otherwise, the listener will want to be making volume and/or EQ playback adjustments from song to song.

Even with single songs though, if you'll be uploading to online streaming platforms, you'll want to be sure that your final mixes don't much exceed -14 LUFS on average, and don't have too many true peaks above -1 db.  Otherwise the platform's algorithm will f*ck with your mix.  :)  Because, like you, my track mixing makes the overall mix pretty much already there, that's usually all I do for final "mastering"  -  and that's typically accomplished with one plugin using presets. The exceptions are those recordings where I have lost the DAW mix files and only have a stereo rendering to work with.  Then, I might have to get much more creatively involved in doing things to the stereo track to get it to a point where I'm content to live with it.

But, always keep in mind, the most important person you need to be satisfied with your mix is you.

David

Edited by HoboSage

Your mixing probably already encroaches on tasks that are really mastering steps.