Your Ad Could Be Here

Ideas for self-guided ear training?

• Noob

Hello, I am pretty new to the world of music in general.

I'm wondering how folks here improve their ears (relative pitch, chord progression recognition, recognizing sharp/flat, etc). If you could point me to any of your favorite exercises or resources I would appreciate it.

So far I have just been using this web app for ear training called ToneScholar (https://tonescholar.com) if you're interested) and it seems quite good, but is not specific to classical guitar. It’s intuitive and I will say that it’s really improved my relative pitch, but it's all voice-based, so probably better for singers.

I'd love to be able to improve my ear while improving my skills on the guitar simultaneously. I only have so much time to practice ;)

Thanks in advance!

PS Just to be clear, I’m NOT looking for other ear training apps, I’m just looking for advice and/or exercises.

• 1 month later...
On 10/22/2023 at 12:05 PM, upsidedown said:

Hello, I am pretty new to the world of music in general.

I'm wondering how folks here improve their ears (relative pitch, chord progression recognition, recognizing sharp/flat, etc). If you could point me to any of your favorite exercises or resources I would appreciate it.

So far I have just been using this web app for ear training called ToneScholar (https://tonescholar.com) if you're interested) and it seems quite good, but is not specific to classical guitar. It’s intuitive and I will say that it’s really improved my relative pitch, but it's all voice-based, so probably better for singers.

I'd love to be able to improve my ear while improving my skills on the guitar simultaneously. I only have so much time to practice ;)

Thanks in advance!

PS Just to be clear, I’m NOT looking for other ear training apps, I’m just looking for advice and/or exercises.