Your Ad Could Be Here

Need Some Help With Music Theory Plz.

PFCBrett

I've been playing guitar for about 3 years and im all self taught, i play a lot of heavy metal but im also open to many other forms of music. I wanted to start learning music theory, because i always find my self stuck playing the same stuff when im creating music. I can't make up good technical stuff. So I was wandering if you guys could tell me where to start off or what helped you to develop your skills better. Thx.

Hi Brett, Welcome to Songstuff [smiley=bounce.gif]

Start by reading the Songstuff Guitar Articles

but my main advice is:

PLAY PLAY PLAY

:guitarplay1::guitarplay2::guitarplay1:

If you hear a riff and think "I wonder how they did that" don't let that thought just fade away, figure it out, Learn it, know it, add it to your toolbox! [smiley=rockin.gif]

Most folks I know worth their salt practice 3-4 hours a day, everyday. Wanna go to a party? Naw, I gotta go practice.

Woodsheding it's called by some...

There are articles here on scales:

Learn scales, learn them backwards, learn them up three notes, then down two, then up three more.

Lessons can ease the learning curve dramatically! I'm self taught, my Brother on the other hand took lessons and sailed right by me. We played and listened to the same stuff, he just got better faster! Consider it!

yeah, I figgered that from your name...Thanks for your service!

When I don't have access to my Guitar I still try to figure out how stuff is played. After three years I imagine you have a grasp on the standard metal riffs and can see the moves in your Mind as you listen.

Here it is,...wait for it....

:guitarplay1:

AIR GUITAR

I use it as a legitimate form of practice, sure I look like someone out of Wayne's World, but it helps. I play Drums on my Steering wheel on the way to work. Keys on the dashboard. It helps!

The key is not just jamming, but actually trying to get it accurate.