Your Ad Could Be Here

? About Recording Live Drums

Hello All:

It has been a while since I've posted here. I must say I'm a little dissapointed in myself for not frequenting these forums more often, but I'm here now, and I come looking for some answers.

First of all, please keep in mind that I am an amateur. I work very hard, but I don't have a lot of formal training in sound production and recording. My only knowledge of the subject comes from a few years of experimentation with a BOSS-864 digital 8-track. So, my methods may not be the most efficient, and my terminology may be a little bit off. Please bear with me. Here's my situation:

I've been working on an "album" since August, and I've been telling myself that I would finish it before graduation. Unfortunately, I've been working so hard on this album that I may get a time extension, if you know what I mean. Finance and music don't always mix well... But that's a another story. I'm finishing up everything, and I wanted to record live drums for all the songs I've been working on, and I need some general advice, so I can get the most out of what I have to work with.

1. I have only one (fairly decent) microphone, that I believe is more of an instrument microphone. In this case, is there a "better" place to put it? Above the drums? Directly in front of the drums? Is this just something I should do by feel, or is there some "trick" that will make the drums sound as good as they can with only one microphone? Should I cover the microphone with a cloth?

2. I'm not sure, but I think I've heard that it's better to record drums in a small (carpeted) room, as opposed to a large room. Is this the case?