Your Ad Could Be Here

Writers Block

• Noob

Hello Everyone! I've been playing guitar for 4 years and writing lyrics for the same length of time. I have come up with a dilemma that has plagued me for a long time. One Summer I went on a writing spree and wrote about 8 songs that I loved and was super excited about. Eventually I starting working 8-5, Monday to Friday for a year to get some money for college. I started writing less and less as I became more and more busy. Now I can hardly write a full verse and what I do write I feel like it isn't good enough and move on without looking back at it. What I am asking is how to find inspiration and get the drive to write lyrics again. I'm all open for ideas and would love to hear from all of you!

~James

• 3 weeks later...

Tom,

I had to re-read this to recall the article properly.

In all my 18 years of songwriting, I never once sat down to write, without first having an idea. Not only have I never done it, it's difficult for me to imagine why anyone would want to try.

I actually write most of my lyrics without having an idea to begin with. I’m sure this has been discussed before. I certainly discussed it with someone. It’s not a song at this stage though. It certainly is a creative piece of work though.

In itself, it’s just another process. No different to your way of beginning with a riff or chord pattern.

The difficulty then comes in finding a way of putting those words to music. Most times I don’t. I just leave them there until I need them. Then I have to change the meter of the words, prune back the length of lines & generally decimate my nice words. Hopefully, I will emerge with a song that still has some semblance of the original sense I began with.

James.

Are you are still there? If so post a reply and then I'll outline the process for you.

• Noob