Your Ad Could Be Here

Can I become a music major?

I'm currently a sophomore in highschool. I have a lot of experience with music, having played piano and violin for 8 & 7 years respectively, but I have not discovered my true passion for music until I joined marching band (and similarly, symphonic band, pep band, and jazz band). I am picking up snare, marimba, etc.. all the typical instruments for percussion, and suddenly music has a whole new meaning for me. I used to hate practicing and would avoid it at all costs and I'm afraid that's made my piano and violin skills worse than someone who has been playing for 2 or so years. But I want to change and I know I want to be a music major. The scary thing for me is, can I become good enough in only the span of two years?

The hardest piece I've ever played on piano is Liebestraume no. 3 by Liszt, and for violin, the double Bach piece. I am still very much a beginner in percussion. I am currently taking piano lessons, but I also want to take violin and percussion lessons too. If I worked really hard, could I make it? I have never been naturally talented in music, but I am willing to try and risk the downsides. Thank you for reading this.

• 3 months later...
  • Noob

It is a perfect choice for you to gain more experience in high school. Interacting with the world of music will be very helpful for discovering strengths, weaknesses, and interests. A solid foundation from high school will play an important role.
Here are some useful things. Let’s have a look: 

• Find a teacher in the music area and learn important things from him. Having guidance from teachers in a specific area will be very helpful for exploring the new things which you are not aware of.
  • Learn music theory and ask your teacher some additional resources. Also, you can take help from the internet as well.