Your Ad Could Be Here

TikTok - a surprising development for my own music

Hi

This is a follow up to a recent post - "Digital Distribution and How to Get Dollars (Publishing) vs Fractions of a Cent (Streaming)" - April 4.

To recap, I'm a total amateur, I don't perform in public and have no fan base.  I create music at home and have digitally distributed four albums via CD-Baby in 2004, 2015, 2020 and 2021.   The only 'marketing' I do is maintaining a website, making a swag of music videos for Youtube, paying for the albums to be reviewed, a couple of newspaper articles (my age/experience rather than the music itself) and occasional entering the videos into film festivals.

At the start of 2022 I noticed some strange 'accounting' reports from TikTok and I wrote bitterly about their zero payments in a post TikTok - King of the Scum? (January 22):

I was delighted (and a little stunned) to see in my CD-Baby Sales Reports that just one of my tracks, the instrumental "Six Degrees North", was getting an extraordinary number (for me) of 'hits' on TikTok --- 33,895 ...

Now, fast forward 4 months, and a handful of tracks, all on TikTokform 95% of the total 560,000 streams/plays:

image.png.f168042172f140f04ce86b0b65d5b2ae.png (the other entries below 1000 not shown)

image.png.8a3dad7224d14428b84cb970b001bd5d.png(the other entries below 1000 not shown)

Again, the reports show zero dollars being paid by TikTok.

image.png.a40d50191bfc16b7841a9ebbb89945f7.png

HOWEVER, I'm hoping that writers Royalties may kick in after the seemingly obligatory delay of approx 12 months.   An article at https://haulixdaily.com/2021/07/tiktok-royalties-explained conatins the following key message:

... the quantity of videos matters more than the total view count. One hundred videos with no views using a specific sound will generate more money than a single video with one million views. The views don’t matter.