Your Ad Could Be Here

I'm An Amateur Songwriter

• Noob

ok about a year ago i realised that i wanted to write songs cos i'm into my music. I'm a big fan of Kelly Clarkson and Beyonce and through their songs, they have influenced me to write. I've listened to their songs and has some good lyrics and melodies. I've written lots of ideas for the songs and what it's about but the melodies, riffs are the ones that i'm stuck with. I play the piano only a tiny bit and I know the notes on the piano and i've experimented on writing riffs etc. but nothing fits with the ideas of my song. For example I have a song called Brown Eyes. It's about how she's really into her partner's eyes which made her fall in love with him etc. that's it. no melody, no hooks etc. that's where it ends.

the second thing is that I can't sing so do you think singing lessons will help me with my song writing?

thanks a lot :)

Edited by Nightwolf
spelling

Hey Katie

I think singing is probably the most accessible instrument, and the easiest for you to begin training your ear. It would certainly help train your voice to sing what your mind imagines, and that at least gives you the ability to express a melody.

I would also suggest that you continue with the piano. It will also help develop your ear and give you a broader appreciation of chords, harmony and arrangement.

You can of course keep developing your songwriting skills as you go along, especially as not all songwriting skills are dependent on musical ability.

I hope this helps :)

Cheers

John

:) Hi Katie. Welcome to songstuff. Have you considered collaborating with someone else who can play an instrument? Or a friend who can sing? Lots of people get along this way, including me!

Steve is right :-[ collaboration is one of the best ways to broaden the list of things that can be accomplished.