Your Ad Could Be Here

Production sounding 'cheesy'

• Noob

Hey guys,

I'm mainly a composer and a songwriter working with a piano, guitar and a bass. I don't have any good recording equipment yet, other than logic pro x. I am content as a songwriter and composer, but as soon as it comes to actually producing what I've wrote, I am never satisfied. There always seem to be quiet a corny, supermario bros vibe to the sound. I'm using mostly pre-set software instruments such as the on board pianos, basses, strings, brass drums etc. I wonder if anyone else has had similar issues? I'm hoping it's my production technique as apposed to the actual intellectual property of the music. 

Thanks

Josh

Midi crap, I guess. ALL my stuff sounds like sh... I hate the production side of things, that's why I don't normally follow even the most basic advice:

1. convert MIDI to audio before you begin to mix

2. use a reference track from a professional recording that is to your liking and compare the sounds; EQ your sound, add reverb etc. until it gets close to the reference sound

Then mix the lot.

Good luck!
Bernd

At the beginning everyone experiences what you're feeling with your mixes down and works. The fact you are using the preset sounds means nothing. Even if you use them you must pay attention to the amalgam of all sounds... I wanna mean... each sound must fit well together with the other ones, so you should not be happy at the first listen. If the whole sound doesn't satisfy you or even you don't like one sound only... well change it/them until the song touches your heart. 

There are a lot of timbres among the strings, brass, pianos, drums, basses preset sounds... Just pick the right sound to make a good work!

• 1 year later...