Your Ad Could Be Here

I just registered and wanted to take a moment to introduce myself. I'm a 27-year-old guy from W.Va. Occupation: newspaper writer. I'm not new to songwriting, but I'm not a professional. I've been writing songs for four or five years and I've been playing guitar for about 14 years. It's mostly a hobby for me, but I do go out and perform locally from time to time and I enjoy participating in the songwriting community in my hometown. I am trying to further my songcraft and would like to grow in all areas. My goals are to continue improving my writing, guitar playing and become more involved in the performance aspect. Eventually, I'd like to be able to make money performing locally and possibly regionally (or, someday, beyond). I have a full-time job and a family, so I do what I can around those obligations.

I don't really have any big commercial aspirations. I perform what I write, and I don't have any desire to pitch my stuff to other musicians. My goal would be to have a performance-based semi-pro "career" and to either self-produce CDs or get with a small label.

Stylistically, my songs fall into the folk- and blues-influenced category. I'm very much into acoustic music and poetic lyrics (though I'm quite aware of the distinction between poetry and lyrics). There is a difference, but I do believe poetry has its place is lyricism. My songs tend to be lyrically heavy with just one guitar acompanying the vocals/lyrics. My lyrics tend to be introspective and personal. I tend to use a lot of figurative language and I'm not always straightforward, but I do believe the messages aren't that hard to catch in my songs. My non-commercial leanings allow me to just explore songwriting as a personal creative outlet that I can share with others. I shy away from strict narratives and storytelling. I like those types of songs, but they aren't my forte, so to speak.