Your Ad Could Be Here

How Do You Write Your Lyrics?

Hey i'm new to writing lyrics and only just started it a few month ago when i just started making lyrics up in my head and figured i would try and get into actually writing things down. I've tried writing a few songs and then the rest is just a few lines of stuff i thought sounded good and was catchy at the time.

One problem i'm having atm is finding a rhythm to what i'm writing down, some things i'm fine with but a lot of the time i'm just writing how i feel etc, how should i try to overcome this? I'm not really a propper musician and only teaching myself acoustic guitar so i can't really come up with any instrumental for me to write it to.

I'm pretty new to the realm of songwriting, so I can only tell you what I do:

I always write lyrics first. When I write them I try to rap them in my head. If I allow myself to sing them without music, usually the song usually comes out kind monotone, So I always rap at first. I let the natural rhythm of the words influence the rhythm of the song. That may be really unhelpful, but it's the only way I know. I rap out the lyrics as I'm writing them so they kind of have a feel. I make sure that my verses have a consistent feel. When I first started I would actually count the syllables in each line to make sure that each verse would balance, and each line of the chorus would balance. I don't do this any more (I find it a little constraining) but it kind of helped me find rhythms when I first started.

If that doesn't make sense to you, I would recommend rapping over a chord progression. Just picking a strum pattern could help bring out the rhythm of your words. You just have to be willing to change things. You might start out with one strum pattern, which will inspire a rhythm which inspires a new strum pattern.

Hey