Your Ad Could Be Here

Famous Songs That Have Imperfections

I'll kick this thread off with a famous song from 2002 called, "Beautiful."

Artist: Christina Aguilera

Songwriter and producer: Linda Perry

Mixing Engineer: Dave Pensado

@3:45, you can hear the most noticeable headphone bleed but you can pretty much spot it in the parts where there are no drums:

Here's what Dave Pensado had to say about it,

The song was about being beautiful and honest in EVERY way. That bleed is honest. It was one of the most honest vocal performances I had EVER heard. It was actually the scratch vocal. Christina still had the lyrics in her hand. She truly has THEGIFT. So I tried to make the mix (with Linda's guidance) as honest as I knew how. I studied "Imagine" by John Lennon and used that as a guide. To me the bleed at the end was HONEST. When I took it out, I missed it. It sounded too clean and contrived. Linda Perry (writer/producer is a real genious), and records her tracks kinda by feel, and has NO regard for traditional engineering techniques. That is what makes her so special. When I heard the bleed, I thought it would send a message to all the big time engineers (especially the older ones) that it's about the music and song, and not US. I REALLY love it, 'cause most engineers would have removed it, and taken some of the personality away. Damn I'm arrogant. Sorry, but you asked.  - Dave Pensado

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/q-dave-pensado/21106-christinas-headphone-bleed-beautifull.html

Also, here's an interview where he briefly talks about it with multi-platinum producer, Warren Huart, @9:14,

Hope you enjoyed it!

Ken

On 10/6/2017 at 10:28 PM, ImKeN said:

I'll kick this thread off with a famous song from 2002 called, "Beautiful."

Artist: Christina Aguilera

Songwriter and producer: Linda Perry

Mixing Engineer: Dave Pensado

@3:45, you can hear the most noticeable headphone bleed but you can pretty much spot it in the parts where there are no drums: