Your Ad Could Be Here

Source for inspiration for your best songs?

Hello, folks 

Here's another question for you (I'm full of them :P), if you wish to answer:

Many of you have been making music for years and probably have a whole lot of songs (or at least skeletons of them) churned out. Some of them may be your personal favourites, irrespective of whether others like them or not. What kind of songs are they and what was the source of inspiration behind them?

It would be interesting to know how random or specific ideas or events etc. lead to creations that give us a sense of satisfaction or fulfilment.

Sreyashi/Sumi

Hi. Good question!

Although I'm just an amateur I've been writing poems/lyrics/songs for years. Now I have the ability to put music to my stuff, firstly with my guitar but nowadays more and more with VSTi, it's taking me in new directions which adds more to my stuff. I've also started revisiting old 'in progress' stuff as when I'm experimenting with sounds I often come across something that fits something else (or I write something completely new) if that makes sense?

My inspiration can be literally anything, but is usually based on my own experiences/observations. Because of this some of my favourites have a personal thread to them so although it's good if other people like them, I like them because they tell a story of a part of my life or something I was thinking at the time.

A good recent example of this was my wife and I went out for an afternoon lunch earlier in the summer which resulted in a song called 'Afternoon Buzz' - I'm still working on it and I'm sure I'll post it here when it's ready 🎙 Every time I work on it it really reminds me of a hot afternoon in the sun with a cold beer and a beautiful woman by my side. My wife laughed at the time cos I wrote most of it while we were out using notes on my iPhone! 

Now we've moved house and I actually have a 'studio' (my first ever!) to work in I'm sure my creativity will flow even more!!

😀