Your Ad Could Be Here

What is your favorite VST?

• Noob

Right now I use the software instruments in Ableton as the keys and synths in my band.  We play electronic rock music and I'm looking for a VST that could expand our sound and give us more options.  What do you guys recommend?  I've listened to some u-he Diva and Sylenth demos that sound really good so far but there are so many options!

Hey! I'm no expert on these things but I have tried a few of these VST synths and own a few.

Sylenth is good! I like it and based on your music I think you would like it too! In my modern pop projects I sometimes find that the sounds doesn't really fit in but for your music I wouldn't think it's a problem.

I've also used Serum and Massive a lot. Serum is in my opinion a synth that is more for people that really want to build their sounds from the ground up. But if you have ableton 10 the wavetable synth can do pretty much the same stuff. Massive is cool too. I haven't really had time to go through all the presets but there's a lot of useful sounds there and a lot of very strange sounds too.

I've tried Nexus too at school but that wasn't really my thing. I think Omnisphere looks amazing but it's kind of expensive and has a huge library. But it seems like the possibilities are pretty much endless with that one. Haven't seen u-he Diva, will check it out.

Do you make your own sounds at all? Ableton is really good for that if you want to play around using the Analog, Operator and Wavetable instruments. There's tons of tutorials on how to get started and it's a good feeling when you have made your own sound and used it in your song! Also check out maxforlive.com if you want to download some free instruments and effects made by the ableton community. Most people put them up for free! You just need to get the max for live extension first, i'm pretty sure that's free too on the ableton website.

Hope you got something useful out of this haha!

• Noob