Your Ad Could Be Here

Greetings from Greenacres, FL

• Noob

Hello, all.

Retired guy here. Been playing guitar since elementary school and writing songs since about that time (though it would be several years before I wrote a decent one). 

Grew up listening mostly to rock and blues, with some country thrown in. (I graduated high school in Nashville and liked some of what I heard there a lot.) 

Later worked the graveyard shift and listened to a jazz show overnight. That's where I learned about the Great American Songbook and became a fan of Sinatra, Ella, Lady Day, Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, and so on. 

Nowadays I don't listen to radio much at all. No knock on today's music, I just spend a lot of time playing guitar and coming up with stuff---after hours of that, I don't listen to music to relax. 

I think some of my songs are good, but what's my biased opinion worth? Bupkis. 

But I do expect to keep writing for as long as I live. 

• Like 2

I enjoyed your story Mark. Welcome to Songstuff. I've been on this site for over a year - plenty of support here. Hopefully you can get what you need from it. Let's hear your songs. Cheers.

• Like 1

• Noob

Thanks for the welcomes!

I'll post a song or two when I can.

I think I have to post several times elsewhere before being allowed to post songs. 

That makes sense to me. I was a moderator elsewhere (-a guitar forum) and sometimes people would join and immediately spam the site.

Hey Mark

Welcome to the Songstuff!

What are you planning for your songs?

Cheers

John

• Noob
14 hours ago, john said:

Hey Mark

Welcome to the Songstuff!

What are you planning for your songs?

Cheers

John

Hey, John, and thanks for the welcome.

What am I planning for my songs? Mainly, to keep writing them.

I turn 65 next month, so I have few plans that would require me to leave the house. ;o) 

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Mark Rhodes said:

Hey, John, and thanks for the welcome.