Your Ad Could Be Here

"Now and Then" - The Beatles

No one has asked and it doesn't really matter what I think, but anyway ...

The Beatles were my biggest of all musical influences. I can actually remember being transfixed hearing “Love Me Do” for the first time on my transistor radio just a couple of months shy of my 12th birthday.  It unlocked something in me, bringing colour into a drab world and giving me and my generation a new focus.  They dominated my complete high-school phase from Please Please Me (1963) to Let It Be (1970).  They were the reason I started playing guitar at age 13.

And now ... “Now and Then”.  The verses are brilliant melodically and lyrically.  Simple, plaintive, but beautiful and inventive.  The choruses are unfortunately mediocre due to trite melody/lyrics, a confused arrangement and some muddy mixing. Ringo’s voice doesn’t help, but who could deny him this unique moment.  Paul’s slide guitar, despite good intentions, doesn’t come close to George’s technical ability, musicality and unique tone. Giles Martin’s string arrangements are NOT as good as his Dad’s.

But, hey, compared to much of recent music, it is a masterpiece.  Fortunately they avoided repeating Jeff Lynne’s ‘ELO effect’ so evident on “Free As A Bird” (which I regard as a much stronger song).