Your Ad Could Be Here

I'm Totally Stuck With My Writing For Years Now.

• Noob

I've read a lot of posts on this website for the last few weeks but nothing really seems to help me with my problem.

I've been playing music for the last 13 years (I'm 26 now) and since I was 16 I've played in several bands. All those bands broke up eventually. Since the age of 17/18 I just wanted to go and try and do the whole music thing for real. I've been fighting myself through several bands / shows, etc. But I always ended up being the only one that really wanted it, like there was no way back. The rest just liked to have fun, and only put 50 % of their time in it. Maybe I scared them with my willingness to give everything up just to do the music thing, but I just wanted it so bad. There is really nothing else that I can do. I also noticed that it is extremely hard to do it here in the Netherlands. Everyone is so 'radio minded' over here. If you don't have a song on the national radio, or have a coverband your destined to play 50 dollar shows in bars for the rest of your life. At least thats how it feels like. (I was even that desperate that I started writing songs purely aimed for the radio, No succes of course) I'm trying to fight my way through for the last 10 years but without any succes. Now I don't have a band at the moment.

Now to the point:

With these bands I was always part of the writing process. I can come up with several parts a day, that I'm happy with. But thats my problem. Now that I'm alone I want to write songs for myself but I can only come up with parts. It drives me crazy. Sometimes just an intro, Other times if I'm lucky a chorus with some vocal melody, etc. But they all don't fit together. And in the end when I'm listening to bands I like I can't help but to compare them to my own material. That's when I think my material isn't as good as theirs. And I delete it, or save it on my harddisk.