Your Ad Could Be Here

Just started

• Noob

Hello, Im a 19 yo guy that started playing acoustic guitar in january but i cant afford any classes so just self taught from youtube, i posted my first cover on youtube 2 days ago and I would appreciate any kind of tips to improve my guitar/singing skills. Thank you for your patience, rock on. 

• Like 4

Hi Pinto,

Welcome to Songstuff.  Thanks for the introduction. Let's see if we can get some guitar basics for you and some guitar players on the board that could help.  Congrats on getting started in January and jumping right in there trying to learn. 

:)

Peggy

• Like 1

Hey Pinto, welcome to the Songstuff family!

Your chord changes are generally pretty clean. The notes sound pretty clear. So well done for that. Nicely done for such a new player.

A few things:

relax your right arm

your left hand thumb should not be sticking up. Some players, including Hendrix, use their thumb differently but it can cause problems s. It only worked for Hendrix because he had large hands. For good technique your thumb should be running  parallel to the frets, but at the back of the neck. Exactly where depends on the chord/scale, but the pad of your thumb would be just above the center line for say a D chord, and almost at the bottom of the neck, between fret 1 and fret 2 (nearer fret 1) for an E chord. It’s almost like your left hand creates a giant letter C, so that as your fingers reach towards the top of the fret board onto the low E string, your thumb slides towards the bottom edge of the neck, and as your fingers sit on the High E string, your thumb slides above the Center line of neck, where the heel of the thumb pad is on the center line. Try and keep a gap of a finger’s width between your fingers and the fret board, with your fingers pressing into the fret board at as close to a right angle as possible.