Mathias Lamfa

Best Microphone you can suggest?

6 posts in this topic

What is the best microphone you can suggest for a home studio?

Posted (edited)

Hey Mat,

Im not a pro. But I have been studying the matter lately and Im gonna add an AT2035(con) to my SM57(dyn). Both have very good value for money, and are considered an industry staple. 

As far as i managed to find out.

Also, more information about what you are planing to record(vocals, guitar, drums, trumpet...) and how, will help you towards getting you a better answer.

Edited by Leo

Condenser mics are usually recommended for studio use, though I have recently gone back to my stage dynamic one (a Shure SM58).

For my purposes, its working just as well. In fact its working a little better, because my condenser (a Rode NT1-A) one is making its own noises. White noise, rumbling etc. probably caused by moisture build up.

Condensers are generally more expensive and are frequently not robust enough for stage use. They need phantom power to work and need careful handling. They have a wider frequency response and I suppose offer better 'fidelity'. 

But if after recording you're going to use a lot of FX, compression and EQ limiting, then IMO you might just not need a condenser.

Posted (edited)

The "best" mic, is the best mic for you given your intend use for it, your budget, and the room you're recording in.  I agree with Leo insofar you don't provide enough information about your intended use, budget and room, and I agree with Rudi that condenser mics, while typically better overall than dynamic mics, have downsides too, and that they can be damaged more easily than a dynamic mic is a downside.  I can't recommend a particular mic under the circumstances.  I can just tell you what mic I use, and why.