Your Ad Could Be Here

I don't know what I'm looking for, help?

So I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I have songs written and I have them programmed to my daw (FL Studio), but I'm still fairly new to using a daw. I need help finding the right sound to these midi plugins because I'm just using stock plugins and I don't have the resources to make the best of song out of the current daw that I'm using. Would I need to hire a producer or a sound engineer for these type of things? Is there a specific person who deals with these types of things?

Hey Michel

It's a good idea to keep learning whatever way you move forwards. Sound engineers tend to be pros, in pro studios. Old school producers are pros too. Modern beat producers grew out of bedroom musicians doing exactly as you are doing now. You could hire a very experienced beat producer but chances are you could find some to work with or who would be wiling to teach you fo free. Beat producers also tend to be in the position of seeing what they can get for free and getting good results. However, they are not perfect. Most home producers lack knowledge. They have just got a broader experience of presets in stock plug ins. They don't actually know what they are doing, just what it sounds like. It is good that they are using their ears and that they get to know the world of plug ins, but your really need to understand if you want to push beyond that.

Forums like this, some good YouTube channels too etc can give you a lot in terms of recommendations and knowledge. You can get a suprising amount of help, and hopefully you can pay it forwards to the next generation of people taking up music making, even new people joining our boards. Everyone started knowing nothing. We all help in part because we know what it is like.

Not everything is about money.

That said I am sure you could find people to help through forums. I would rely upon forums more than things like Twitter or Facebook Groups.