Your Ad Could Be Here

What are your biggest barriers to starting or finishing songs?

Hello everyone,

I am a composer and producer while my collaborator is a songwriter. We wanted to start this topic as we are also technologists and we believe software built around these barriers could help. Some guiding questions:

⁠What are the steps you go through to make a song and what do you use? ⁠Which of these steps do you find most difficult, tedious, or expensive and why? What are your strengths and weaknesses in making a song and how do you currently work around them?

Posted (edited)

Do you mean writing a song or making a demo? I'm a little confused as to which you mean as you refer to songwriting in the heading and making a song referring to the expense involved in your post.

Assuming you've left this to the interpretation of the reader -

Songwriting;

The most difficult part for me is having a title or idea that's good or interesting enough to be worth developing. Often it'll only sustain a verse and a chorus, or even just a few lines before it runs out of steam. I think that technology and processes notwithstanding, the biggest barrier to songwriter is not having something to say that's worth turning into a song.

Producing Demos:

I used to do this a lot until I could no longer ignore what a boring process this was. A lot of repetition and tweaking and re-doing parts over and over again - but the biggest problem of all is that the song is rarely properly finished when the demo is - there's always something you want to change. I prefer to see songs now as having more of a life of their own so that you can play them in different ways and make small adjustments every time if you want to as time goes on.

Edited by Tatlock Holmes