Your Ad Could Be Here

Need Advice For Music

I've been writing lyrics for a couple years now, but lately I've been wanting to try adding music to them. Does anyone have advice on how to add music to lyrics for someone who's never done so before? Should I write the lyrics first, or try to find a melody? I can play some guitar and a little piano.

I've been writing lyrics for a couple years now, but lately I've been wanting to try adding music to them. Does anyone have advice on how to add music to lyrics for someone who's never done so before? Should I write the lyrics first, or try to find a melody? I can play some guitar and a little piano.

Lyrics first or melody first comes down to personal preference, and starting out you should try both and see what success you have. Since that's obviously not very helpful on it's own, I'll try to expand with some thoughts about each...

For me personally it's easier to write a melody and fit words to it after, but the downside is that I often have a hard time creating variety/ contrasting sections unless I have some song form in mind, which leads to lyrics... I'm making a conscious effort to address this... also, I know of people who struggle with the melody-first approach far less than I do, and very seldom write music to existing lyrics.

On the other hand, a friend of mine has little trouble putting music to existing lyrics, at least when the lyrics are somewhat inspiring to him, but he writes only a few lyrics of his own, and very seldom if at all writes instrumentals that he intends to add lyrics to later.

Since you say your writing lyrics already, it might seem that the latter approach is better. I think the primary pitfall you might is encounter is the syndrome of being too attached to your lyrics. This can cause a particular problem when the combination of lyric and melody becomes very difficult to sing... there has to be some give & take on each side...