Your Ad Could Be Here

What Got You Into Music?

I can remember trading a bunch of army men and other toys with a friend of mine for a snare drum he had and playing that thing to every song on the radio and every album I had just exploring all the sounds I could get out of that one drum. I feel drums choose me as I've always been drawn to them and I still get the same feeling playing today as I did when I was a child. I look forward to hearing everyone's story

• Like 1

A bit of a mix, but mainly my mum. She was a soprano with the BBC and the Scottish National Orchestra, and she taught piano to bring in some extra money. My older sisters played, so did my grandfather. So I started learning from age 4. I guess even before that I used to sing with my sisters while either one of them or my mum played piano. On a reasonably regular basis I and my sisters would have to perform for and with my mum and her music friends at parties. They were all singers of one kind or another and many played other instruments. I started learning the violin age 6 or 7 after watching Yehudi Menuhin play on TV. That started me on learning another instrument (which became a bug) and a life long passion of how instruments work together, then arranging music and then writing songs.

I was creative in other ways too, from writing poetry to drawing and painting. I was very lucky to come from a family that encouraged art and music.

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...

aahh tom ,hit it on the head !! tho I picked up a friends guitar and it sounded good at ripe ol age of 6 and went from there by 8 , I knew that the

girls loved it and I was sold !!! and the 60-70's was a great time to learn and play !!!

Yeah, It was a combination of wanting to meet girls (that worked much better then track where even win you win your throwing up crossing the finish line.)

And.... my best friends were a drummer and a singer who talked me into it. 

• 3 weeks later...

It wasnt my choice. Music choose me.